POPSUGAR Entertainment

12 Books That Are Just as Twisted as American Horror Story

Sep 26 2014 - 10:10am

With less than two weeks until American Horror Story: Freak Show [1], we are hungry for anything and everything that will tide us over until the Oct. 8 premiere. If you're watching the new season, chances are you're ready to be terrified, but we're bringing you plenty of ways to warm up your nightmares. If the GIFs from all the teasers [2] aren't enough to scare you, and you've run out of things to watch to prepare yourself [3], there is plenty of reading material out there, too. Start by reading the terrifying true story of Edward Mordrake [4], and keep scrolling for a list of frightening novels that will help you relive the previous seasons and prime yourself for the season to come.

Additional reporting by Shannon Vestal

Source: Facebook user AmericanHorrorStory [5]

If You Think You'll Love Season 4: Freak Show

Source: FX [6]

It by Stephen King

It, the terrifying story of a maniacal clown that feeds on children, has been hailed as one of the scariest books of all time. Ryan Murphy, of course, promised an even more horrifying clown in AHS: Freak Show, so you can see why this might be a good primer.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This 2011 book is more fantasy than horror, but it is chock full of fantastical feats by a traveling circus that seems to materialize in and out of nowhere. Like Freak Show, The Night Circus also has enchanting contortionists, plus it has a pair of illusionists whose connection could be deadly.

Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

OK, this one is perfect for American Horror Story: Freak Show. It tells the tale of a traveling carnival whose ringleader calls himself Mr. Dark. When the carnival reaches a small town, the residents realize Mr. Dark has the powers to grant their deepest desires. But there's a catch. In reality, Dark is a evil, merciless being, and he uses his powers to lure in individuals, and imprison them forever.

If You Loved Season 3: Coven

Source: FX [7]

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

OK, so, this one isn't exactly tipping the scary scale, but there are quite a few unsettling elements to it: creepy children with dangerous abilities, horrific monsters, and evil villains. Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children will definitely make you think of Miss Robichaux's Academy For Exceptional Young Ladies (even in name!), and of course, all the children's strange abilities will take you right back to the coven.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Everyone knows the story of Frankenstein, a deranged doctor who assembles a brutish monster from the combined parts of many different human beings. It sounds an awful lot like Kyle, the frat boy whom Madison and Zoe put back together and revive on AHS.

Carrie by Stephen King

In AHS: Coven, young, extraordinary witches find solace at Miss Robichaux's Academy in New Orleans, and oddly, Carrie White would probably fit right in there. Stephen King's first novel about a high school girl with telekinesis is perfectly chilling and just the right vibe.

If You Loved Season 2: Asylum

Source: FX [8]

The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty

As you might remember, the second season of AHS features an attempted exorcism, so it's easy to see why we're recommending the original satanic tale of doom: The Exorcist. If you thought the film adaptation of this one was scary, the book is much, much worse.

American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis

A huge theme of AHS: Asylum is that the world's ugliest, most evil monsters are actually just humans. American Psycho is also a testament to that. Patrick Bateman, the sadistic, psychopathic main character of the novel, deceives those around him with ease, much like Dr. Thredson, aka Bloody Face. We're sure Bateman would feel right at home in Briarcliff.

The Shining by Stephen King

OK, even though The Shining takes place in The Overlook Hotel, it may as well be considered an asylum. Not only is Jack Torrance, the hotel's Winter caretaker, driven absolutely mad over the course of the novel, but the place is practically crawling with ghouls and spiritual entities, just like the halls of Briarcliff on AHS: Asylum.

If You Loved Season One: Murder House

Source: FX [9]

Hell House by Richard Matheson

Yet another incarnation of your typical haunted-house story, Hell House will surely make you want to sleep with your light on. With so many angry spirits, violent episodes, and deaths, you'll be hearing echoes of AHS the entire time.

Rosemary's Baby by Ira Levin

In Rosemary's Baby, Rosemary slowly becomes convinced that her neighbors are satanic witches and that they mean to harm the baby growing inside her. On AHS, Vivian Harmon experiences similar distress with so many spirits vying to steal her baby. What's more, without giving too much away, the fathers in both instances are seriously evil points of contention.

The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson

The Amityville house is definitely one of the more famous haunted houses, with two film adaptations bearing its name. If you're thrilled by the nightmarish ghosts, possessions, paranormal occurrences, and more from the first season of AHS, this is right up your alley.


Source URL
http://www.buzzsugar.com/entertainment/Books-Like-American-Horror-Story-35307247